Guilty Pleasure: Melrose Place

11 02 2010

I have never seen the new 90210 nor will I EVER!! So imagine how my stomach felt when the CW, the station that killed The Game, announced that they were re-doing Melrose Place. It was up in knots. I was never going to see it until my darling sister convinced me. She watched the original MP, she knew the characters and the story lines, and when she heard some of the orignal cast members will be co-mingling with the hot young cast–her interest piqued. Now my sister usually doesn’t watch those type of shows, just Forensic Files, American Justice–shows like that. Call me gay–not in that way-but I wanted something topical to share with my sister. So I watched it. It was horrible. Most of the actors were unknown (you’ve seen them in bit parts, you know you have) expect for Ashlee Simpson. Sigh…..WHY WOULD ANYONE WATCH A SHOW WHERE ASHLEE SIMPSON IS THE BIG NAME!! Despite that huge injustice, I watched it for the sake of sisterhood. Aside from her weird stalker eyes and the who killed Sydney debacle, it was a deliciously trashy show. It was…gasp….a gulity pleasure….We watched every Tuesday, paused it when we had something to say, was so quiet as they butchered their lines, made observations that turned out to be right on point, and emailed each other when we thought of any new revelations. The last 6 episodes seemed to really picked up steam and was barreling in the right direction, especially after they fired Ashlee and that stiff looking guy.

One stand out is Katie Cassidy as they evilly bisexual Ella Sims. She is Heather Locklear’s Amanda incarnate. More of her please!! The rest of the cast is slowly stepping up as worthy co-stars of Ms. Cassidy, at this point her ‘power dresses’ and her willingness to do anything including screwing over her dopey crush is carrying the show. She is what Blair Waldorf was in the first 2 seasons of Gossip Girl (more on that). Another stand out is Vincent Webster as Ella boss, the cute but homosexual Caleb Brewer (apparently he played the same role in the orignal MP).

I don’t care for the old cast being integrated into the new show, that’s just stunt casting at its worst. The roles that they are playing—— anyone else could be cast in that part.

Unfortunately the show is not renewed for a second season……should’ve never cast Ashlee….her audition, if there was one, I know was not that great. Obviously her dad got her the part. I will continue to watch the remaining episodes. Hopefully the CW will reconsider but I know they won’t (the numbers just weren’t there)…..sigh.

Still of Colin Egglesfield and Ashlee Simpson-Wentz in Melrose Place

I BLAME YOU TWO!!!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

